Presidential election announced in India: Know here how the President of India is elected

Inside Press India
5 min readJun 16, 2022
Presidential election in India

The Election Commission in India has recently announced the date for the presidential election in the country. Voting for the 15th President of the country will be held on 18 July and the results will be declared on 21 July.

The last date for nominations for the presidential election is June 29.

क्या आप इसे हिंदी में पढ़ना चाहते हैं? यहां क्लिक करें

Let us tell you today in this article of Inside Press India, how the President of India is elected and what are his powers.

What is the process of presidential election?

The President of India is elected by the Electoral Board. The members of this Electoral Board are the elected members of the Rajya Sabha and the Vidhan Sabha, and in addition, the elected members of all the Legislative Assemblies.

Note that members of the Legislative Council are not members of this circle and nominated members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha are also not its members.
The value of all these votes is different.

Let us tell you that each of the members who can vote for the President in India has a fixed value of their vote and in the case of the Legislative Assembly it is decided on the basis of the population of the state. The value of the vote of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha is one and that of the members of the Legislative Assembly is different, which is decided on the basis of the population of the state.

What happens when 2 candidates get equal votes in the presidential election?

In such a situation, the framer of the constitution did not conceive. That’s why there is no mention of it. There is no such mention in the 1952 law regarding the election of President and Vice President. However, in all the presidential elections that have been held so far, no such situation has come and there is no possibility of coming.

What is the political life of the President after the presidential election

According to the provision in the Indian Constitution, after the end of the President’s term, the Presidential election can also be contested again. In such a situation, the political life of the President never ends. There are no restrictions on the political career of the President after the end of his term in the Constitution. But this is the biggest post in the country, so any person who becomes President once will not like to become MP or MLA or Governor because all these posts are below the President.

What is the importance of the presidency in India

As we understand most of the powers in India are with the Prime Minister. But this is not the complete truth. Everyone has their own areas. The entire executive power is in the hands of the President. The President can use these directly himself or through officers subordinate to him.

Along with this, the President appoints the Prime Minister and preserves the Constitution. According to the Indian Constitution, the President is considered the highest office of the country.

No act can be passed without the approval of the President. They can return any bill for reconsideration except money bill.

What are the limits of contesting presidential election

The person contesting to contest the presidential election must be a citizen of India. Age should be minimum 35 years. He should have the eligibility to be a member of Lok Sabha.
The electoral board should have 50 proponents and 50 supporters.

The fundamental duty of the President is to discharge the executive powers of the Committee. The President is the Supreme Commander of the three armies of the country.

How can the President be removed from office?

In India, impeachment is done to remove the President from his office.
For this, 14 days notice has to be given to the member in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. It requires the signature of at least two-thirds of the members.

Then the House considers it. If two-thirds of the members agree to it, then it goes to the second house. If two-thirds of the members of the second house also pass it with support, in such a situation the President is considered to be removed from office.

More than 2 candidates can run for the presidency but they should have 50 proposers and 50 supporters. In such a situation, the power of pardon is exercised by the President only on the advice of the Council of Ministers. But what advice has been given to the President by the Council of Ministers cannot be asked in court.

Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was the only President who was elected unopposed and Dr. Rajendra Prasad was the only President who was elected twice.

Information about the current President Ram Nath Kovind

Ram Nath Kovind was sworn in as the 14th President of India on 25 July 2017. Shri Ram Nath Kovind has been an advocate in the Supreme Court and was the Governor of Bihar before assuming the highest constitutional office of the country.

Kovind has experience of working in diverse fields ranging from Supreme Court to Parliament.

Shri Ramnath Kovind was born on 1 October 1945 in Paronkh village of Kanpur district of Uttar Pradesh. He completed his schooling and higher education from Kanpur itself. President Kovind obtained a law degree from Kanpur University itself.

He was a Central Government Advocate in the Delhi High Court from 1977 to 1979. Became an Advocate on Record in the Supreme Court of India in 1978. He was a permanent advocate of the Central Government in the Supreme Court from 1980 to 1993.

Ram Nath Kovind was elected a member of the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of the Parliament of Uttar Pradesh, in April 1994,
he was a member of the Rajya Sabha for two consecutive terms of 6–6 years.

On 8 August 2015, he took over as the Governor of Bihar.

Even after this became the 14th President of India

How many presidents have there been in India till now?

Before President Ram Nath Kovind, there were 13 Presidents in the country.

  • Dr. Rajendra Prasad (1884–1963)
  • Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1888–1975)
  • Dr. Zakir Hussain (1897–1969)
  • Varahagiri Venkata Giri (1894–1980)
  • Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1905–1977)
  • Nilam Sanjeeva Reddy (1913–1996)
  • Giani Zail Singh (1916–1994)
  • R Venkataraman (1910–2009)
  • Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma (1918–1999)
  • KR Narayanan (1920–2005)
  • Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam (1931–2015)
  • Pratibhadevi Singh Patil (birth — 1934)
  • Pranab Mukherjee (1935–2020)

More on our next articles.

Do not forget to subscribe to Inside Press India and if you like the article, then do not forget to like it and give us your suggestions by commenting.


Inside Press India LOGO